A Writer’s Retreat, Sort Of…

Last week I took off for a week by myself. No family, no commitments, no schedules to be kept. Granted my leaving my family for a week was planned about a month and a half prior to my doing so, but the activities of the week itself were not planned in any way, shape, or form. My goal for the week was to have all the time I wanted to write, read, sleep, eat, or do nothing. Since I’m not very good at doing nothing, that was not really an option.

A little about where I went and why and then I’ll tell you about the best part of the week.

I decided to go to Nashville Tennessee for many different reasons. One being fall and winter in Seattle can be quite dreary and at least in Nashville at this time of year, I knew I’d get sunshine and moderate temperatures.

I booked an Air BnB in a neighborhood outside of the downtown area. It was an area I was sort of familiar with since I have a friend who lives there. I intentionally decided not to rent a car, relying only on my feet and Lyft when I needed to go somewhere further than I could walk, like the airport. I scoped out where places were to eat and the closest grocery store and even brought a few food items from home since I was getting in late Monday night and would need coffee first thing in the morning. 🙂

I took along my laptop, of course. My journal, a couple of writing maps, and clothes, because those are usually necessary too.

My first morning there I made a run to a local bagel shop, then a grocery store for all the necessary foodstuffs. The place I was staying had a complete kitchen, so I was able to eat when I wanted and what I wanted, again not having to worry about anyone else but myself.

After that, I settled in for writing, reading, and refilling the creative tank.

Being in a city surrounded by creatives was energizing even if I didn’t get out and meet any of them. But I did venture out a few times.

The friend that I know there is involved in the music business, like most people there. Getting to hang out in his studio and talk all things music was a great way to step back from my story, and yet at the same time, he was a wealth of information when it came to music history which helped me fine tune some details that I will address in my next round of editing.

There was a park nearby that had a wonderful walking trail. Add in the sunshine and mostly perfect temperatures, and I was out there for energizing walks and a good dose of Vitamin D.

The awkward part was finding the right writing area. As a creature of habit, I’m used to my desk and exercise ball at home, so I fidgeted a bit at first. It was a bit like Goldilocks and the Three Bears. I tried the dining table and a chair, too stiff. I tried the couch, to angled. Finally, I tried the daybed by the window, just right.

And write I did. I wound up with about 4 1/2 chapters and even a few ideas of how this story might actually end.

But the highlight of the trip was what I’m about to share.

I said in the beginning that I didn’t have anything planned. But I did manage to schedule one thing before I left, a meeting with an editor. She was someone that I had met some years ago at a creative conference and I had kept her contact information for the future because you never know when you would be in need of an editor.

Prior to the meeting, I sent off my manuscript in progress and then waited. All the questions and self-doubts kicked in during the weeks leading up to our appointment, but I continued to plug away at the story, knowing that regardless of the results of the meeting, I was going to finish this book.

Nerves on high, and not having any idea what to expect, we met Tuesday. If that had been the only day I spent in town, it would have made the entire trip worthwhile. She answered all of my questions, she gave me valuable feedback, and most of all, she really liked what I had sent. She also gave you guys a round of applause.

I explained to her what this community offers and the feedback you all have so graciously shared and she said it showed in what I had sent her. She shared that most first or second drafts that she receives are not very well organized or thought out, but that what I had sent was and she was excited with the project and the prospect of working with me.

Okay, long story short, I left that meeting with a renewed outlook on my life and future as a writer. I went back to my little retreat and took a look at what was next. As I said, I banged out more chapters, and now that I’m home for a week, I’m beginning the process of setting up a timeline as to what’s next. I will continue to post my chapters as I have been doing, and offering my feedback to all of you as I can too.

So while it wasn’t what most would consider a “writer’s retreat” where you go to workshops, and meet with other writer’s, and possibly even pitch ideas, it was exactly what I needed. And I would most definitely recommend to anyone here, don’t doubt yourself or what you are doing. You are here for a reason, you have made a commitment to write your story, and the world needs that story. If you find yourself feeling run down, or creatively empty, even if you can’t fly away somewhere, try and take a day or two and get away somewhere different. Just the slightest change of scenery and perspective can work wonders for the mind and soul.

Leave a comment